Description file
It’s a file allowing to describe a business platform in the context of RealOpInsight. A description file is defined as a set of services and/or business processes along with business rules that bind them to each other.
IT component

Defines a hardware (physical) or a software component in an IT infrastructure.

E.g. a server, a Database.


Defines a physical IT component.

E.g. a server, a router, a switch.

Defines a problem or a disruption to the normal operation of an IT component. E.g. a failure on a hard-drive, a crash of a process, a network failure.
Monitoring item

A probe allowing to get the status of a device regarding a type of incidents:

  • For Nagios-based system, a monitoring item corresponds to a ‘check service’.

    E.g. check_mysql allows to monitor the status of MySQL daemon.

  • For Zabbix, it corresponds to a ‘trigger’.

    E.g. the ping trigger allows to monitor the availability of a device.

  • For Zenoss a monitoring item corresponds to a ‘component’.

    E.g. the httpd component allows to check the status of httpd daemon.

Data point

Defines the relationship between a service in RealOpInsight and a status data within the monitoring server. Each data point is uniquely characterized with an identifier in one of the following forms:

  • For Nagios-based systems we use the pattern host_name/service_description, in compliance with the definition of a service in Nagios. See the Nagios documentation for more details.
  • For Zabbix we use the pattern host/trigger_name, in compliance with the definition of a trigger in Zabbix. See the Zabbix documentation for more details.
  • For Zenoss we use the pattern device_name/component_name, in compliance with the definition of a component in Zenoss. See the Zenoss documentation for more details.
Severity of incident

Refers to the level of impact an incident has on the healthy of a IT component. For example:

  • Nagios and its derived systems use four levels of severity also called Service States: OK, WARNING, CRITICAL and UNKNOWN.
  • Zabbix defines six levels of severities: NOT CLASSIFIED, INFORMATION, WARNING, AVERAGE, HIGH and DISASTER.
  • Zenoss also defines six levels severity: CLEAR, DEBUG, INFO, WARNING, ERROR and CRITICAL.
Refers to an IT functionality or a high level service (business service) as decribed next.
Native service
IT service
Defines a basic IT functionality (e.g. mysqld service).
Business service
Also called business process, a business service defines a high level service not directly related to a basic IT functionality. It may depend on one or more basic IT services, and/or other business services. E.g. a backup service and a hosting service.
Monitored platform
Represents a set of monitored services. In RealOpInsight context the services are related among them within an hierarchy of services as described in the next section.
Severity propagation rule
Defines how the severity of a service is propagated to its parent within an hierarchy.
Severity calculation rule
Defines how the severity of a service is calculated according to the severities of its sub services.
A visualization interface that offers a simple and summarizing way to get an insight on the healthy of a monitored platform.
Nagios-based system
Nagios-derived system
Refers to Nagios itself, Shinken, Centreon, Icinga, GroundWork, or any other monitoring system that relies on the same concepts than Nagios.
Monitoring source
Or simply source, refers to a monitoring server enabling API (native or not) to retrieve data related to probes.